The Record Collection

Fred McDowell: The Alan Lomax Recordings

Mississippi Records (MR 074)

Tracklist:

Side 1
01 Shake ‘Em On Down
02 Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
03 Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning
04 Fred McDowell’s Blues
05 Woke Up This Morning With My Mind On Jesus
06 Drop Down Mama

Side 2
07 Going Down To The River
08 Wished I Was In Heaven Sitting Down
09 When The Train Comes Along
10 When You Get Home Please Write Me A Few Of Your Lines
11 Worried Mind Blues
12 Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning (Instrumental Reprise)

Personnel:

Fred McDowell – Vocals, Guitar
Miles Pratcher – Guitar [Second Guitar] (01,04,06,07,10)
Fanny Davis – Musician [Comb] (01,04,07)
Annie Mae McDowell – Vocals (03)
Rosalie HIll, Sidney Hemphill Carter – Vocals (09)

“Fred McDowell: The Alan Lomax Recordings” is a collaboration by the Alan Lomax Archive, Domino Sound, and Mississippi Records
Mastered in Portland, Oregon
Recorded in Como, Mississippi, September 21-25, 1959

BUT...

The Association for Cultural Equity has a catalog of 17,400 audio files as recorded by Alan Lomax.

Vistors to the website can listen to the recordings. Here is the listing for Fred McDowell.

61 Highway Blues
Blues (You’re Gonna Be Sorry)
Drop Down Mama
Fred McDowell’s Blues (Going Down South)
Freight Train Blues
Germany Blues
Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
Gravel Road Blues

I Been Drinkin’ Water Out Of A Hollow Log
I Want Jesus To Walk With Me (false start)
I Want Jesus To Walk With Me (false start)
I Want Jesus To Walk With Me (I)
I Want Jesus To Walk With Me (II)
I Want Jesus To Walk With Me (III)
I Want Jesus To Walk With Me (IV)
I Woke Up This Morning (With My Mind On Jesus)

Interview with Fred McDowell about learning guitar

Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dying Bed
Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning
Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning (I)
Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning (II)
Lord Have Mercy
Motherless Children
My Mother Died And Left Me

Shake ‘Em On Down
Shake ‘Em On Down (I)
Soon One Morning
The Sun Rose This Morning (Going Down to the River)
Unidentified song fragment
What’s The Matter Now?
When The Train Comes Along

When You Get Home, Please Write Me A Few Of Your Lines
Wished I Was In Heaven Sitting Down
Wished I Was In Heaven Sitting Down (false start)
Wished I Was In Heaven Sitting Down (I)
Wished I Was In Heaven Sitting Down (II)
Worried Mind Blues
Worried Mind Blues (I)
You Done Told Everybody In The Neighborhood

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers