The Record Collection

Art Tatum: Masterpieces (Leonard Feather Series)

MCA2-4019 double mono vinyl LP set (1973)


Side 1
01 Get Happy
02 Elegie
03 Humoresque
04 Lullaby of the Leaves
05 Stormy Weather
06 Emaline
07 Indiana

Side 2
08 Rosetta
09 Sweet Lorraine
10 St. Louis Blues
11 Tea For Two
12 Tiger Rag
13 Begin The Beguine
14 Love Me
15 Gone With The Wind

Side 3
16 I Got Rhythm
17 I Would Do Anything For You
18 Honeysuckle Rose
19 Moonglow
20 Cocktails for Two
21 Deep Purple
22 After You’ve Gone

Side 4
23 Last Goodbye Blues *
24 Wee Baby Blues *
25 Stomping At The Savoy *
26 Lonesome Graveyard **
27 Corrina Corrina **
28 Battery Bounce *
29 Rock Me Mama **
30 Lucille **


Art Tatum Trio:
(recorded New York 1/5/44)
Art Tatum, piano; Tiny Grimes, guitar; Slam Stewart, bass.

* Art Tatum & Band:
(recorded New York 1/21/41)
Art Tatum, piano; Joe Thomas, trumpet; Ed Hall, clarinet;
John Collins, guitar; Billy Taylor, bass;
Eddie Dougherty, drums; Joe Turner, vocals.

** Art Tatum & Band:
(recorded New York 6/13/41)
Art Tatum, Piano; Joe Thomas, Trumpet; Oscar Moore, Guitar;
Billy Taylor, bass; Yank Porter, drums.

Liner Notes: Leonard Feather
Recording type: Studio
Recording mode: Mono
Collectors of recordings by piano great Art Tatum are frustrated by the many haphazard, poorly documented, and often incomplete collections of his work; this set attempts to collect recordings for Decca. This disc is made with every song he waxed with blues singer Joe Turner present.  Tatum’s virtuoso performances — especially his solos of “Tiger Rag,” “Elegie,” and “Body and Soul” — are still amazing many decades after they were first released.  ~ Ken Dryden