The Record Collection

The Bongolian: Blueprint

Blow Up Record BU028CD

Track list:

01 – Agent Hardigs
02 – Del-Ray
03 – Badger Burgess
04 – Sad Curtis
05 – House Of Voodoo
06 – 16th Century Troubador
07 – The Hoodwink
08 – Psyche Yamm
09 – Ferris Wheel
10 – Victoria Park
11 – Soul Caravan
12 – Freddie’s Dreaming
13 – Routemaster Ride


Nasser Bouzida – Hammond C3 organ & Leslie 147, Farfisa Compact Duo, Rhodes 88 electric piano, SH101 synth, BX3 and CX3 organs, school piano, autoharp, melodica, electric bass, guitar, bongos, congas, queeka, agogô bells, cowbell, drums, timbales and maracas

Recorded at the infamous Ramshackle Studios in Berkshire utilising a 1/4″ 8-track tape machine.
Mixed By – Mike Pelonconi
Photography – Alison Wonderland
Sleeve design by Arthole.

Release Date: December 3, 2006

The Bongolian – a solo project by Nasser Bouzida, the main man from Blow Up Records’ Big Boss Man.
This is Nasser in his element, taking us on a musical journey of dirty bongo driven Funk and spaced-out Latin Soul – all 100% Heavy Bongo Vibes.
Written, arranged, performed and produced by Nasser at Ramshackle Studios on analogue 8 track, and mixed by Mike Pelanconi (Graham Coxon, Big Boss Man).
Please note, this album contains NO SAMPLES, just a groove that sounds good!
Nasser has put together a live band for The Bongolian and since the previous album has been touring the UK and Europe extensively with dates in France, Germany and Spain.
In 2011 Nass also toured the US with Holly Golightly both in her band and as The Bongolian for support!
Whilst appealing to the Big Boss Man fanbase, The Bongolian has also found a wider appeal with dance, hip-hop, rare grooves and funky 45s fans.
Think Money Mark meets Mongo Santamaria.