The Record Collection

The Band: Stage Fright

Capitol SW-425

Track list:

01 – Strawberry Wine
02 – Sleeping
03 – Time To Kill
04 – Just Another Whistle Stop
05 – All La Glory
06 – The Shape I’m In
07 – W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
08 – Daniel & The Sacred Harp
09 – Stage Fright
10 – The Rumor

A 2000 CD re-issue includes:
11 – Daniel And The Sacred Harp [Alternate take (take 1) – recorded 6/4/70 at the Woodstock Playhouse, this is an uptempo version]
12 – Time To Kill [Alternate mix – mixed by Glyn Johns 6/13/70 at Island Studios in the UK]
13 – The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show [Alternate mix – this mix is from Rundgren’s first set of mixes (mixed in late June, 1970 at the Record Plant in N.Y.C.)]
14 – Radio Commercial [30-second radio spot produced to promote Stage Fright]


Robbie Robertson – Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
Rick Danko – Bass, Violin, Vocals
Levon Helm – Guitar, Drums, Vocals
Garth Hudson – Keyboards, Saxophone
Richard Manuel – Drums, Keyboards, Vocals

Todd Rundgren – Engineer
Glyn Johns – Engineer / Co-producer
Larry Walsh – Re-mastering Engineer
Chris Morris – Liner Notes

Original released in 1970

For some reason, the mixing of the Stage Fright tapes was done independently by Todd Rundgren and by Glyn Johns in England, and their final results were quite different from each other.
The 1994 Gold CD release of Stage Fright contain different mixes than the original release, according to the All-Music Guide.