The Record Collection

Spindlewood: Spindlewood

Spindlewood Music SM 1000

Track list:

01 – Gone to America
02 – Talk about Suffering
03 – Bells of Norwich
04 – Night Visiting Song
05 – A-Soalin’
06 – Safe in the Harbour
07 – Mary Parker’s Lament
08 – Hard Times
09 – Twa Corbies
10 – Jock O’ Hazeldean
11 – Queen of Argyll
12 – Blue Eyes (for Peter)


Cathleen Moran (aka Jesse Rowan) – Vocals, Hammered Dulcimer
Wayne Collins – Vocals, Guitar, Cittern, Recorders
Fiona Mahony – Fiddle
Dave Alleway – Harp
Ian Stewart – Flute, Whistle
Bob Hefner – Fiddle, Lead Vocals (“hard times”)
Ian Blake – Alto sex, Clarinet
Mike Jackson – Harmonica
Bruce Millar – English Cancertina
Diane Gaylard – Highland Pipes
Dave Hildyard – Bass
Mike Wells – Mandolin

Produced by Spindlewood Music 1988
Recorded at ReelMusik, Canberra

Jim Collins – Portraits
Catherine O’Connor – Title Graphics

In 1987, the Canberra-based duo of Wayne Collins and Cathleen Moran, cut the first Spindlewood album featuring a mix of traditional and authored folk songs (there are even three tracks available for Child Ballad collectors). They were aided in this by a number of musicians variously providing backing on the twelve album tracks and also by Bob Hefner as lead vocalist on “Hard Times”. (participants listed in the LP artwork). There have been two subsequent albums by a much enlarged Spindlewood but this album has long been “out of print” and unavailable for purchase. Cathleen Moran now goes by the name of Jesse Rowan and web details are available under that name.

This is a delightful LP with strong performances both vocally and musically by all participants. There are two covers of Australian authored works namely Eric Bogle’s “Safe in the Harbour” and Judy Small’s “Mary Parker’s Lament”.
—Paul the Stockman

As part of the Australian acoustic band Spindlewood Jesse has co-produced three albums, Spindlewood, Face the Wind and Blue Sky – Red Earth.

The album was released in July 1988 at The Albert Hall in Canberra, at a Monaro Folk Music Society Bushdance.

The album was declared Album of the Year at the Canberra Media and Music Awards, “recognizing excellence, creativity and innovation”.