The Record Collection

Rick Danko & Levon Helm: Starry Night, Portland, Oregon (28 Jan 1983)

Soundboard Recording



01 talk
02 Caledonia
03 Evangeline
04 Down South in New Orleans
05 It Makes No Difference
06 Wealthy Old Farmer
07 Long Black Veil
08 too ning
09 Rag Mama Rag
10 Sick and Tired
11 A Letter to Tom
12 Milk Cow Boogie
13 Java Blues
14 Short Fat Fanny
15 noise
16 Every Night and Every Day
17 Hand Jive
18 noise
19 The World’s Gone Mad
20 Let’s Go Out in a Blaze of Glory


Rick Danko – guitar, vocals
Levon Helm – vocals, harmonica, mandolin

Recorded at Starry Night club, Portland, Oregon, on 28th January, 1983

During the early 1980s, Rick maintained a low profile and, in 1983, re-united with The Band (minus Robbie Robertson, who pursued a solo career). During that period, he began playing acoustic guitar as well as bass onstage, and his unique style of tuning and playing (revealing the bass player in his soul) became another of his signature sounds. Throughout the 80s, never one to “sit at home,” Rick continued to play solo, with The Band, in pairings with Richard Manuel, Levon Helm, Paul Butterfield, Jorma Kaukonen and others. In 1985, he appeared (with Manuel, Helm and Hudson) in a feature film, Man Outside, and in 1987, he released an instructional video, Rick Danko’s Electric Bass Techniques (Homespun).