The Record Collection

Maddy Prior & The Carnival Band: Vaughan Williams Carols, Songs & Hymns (2010)

Rark Records PRKCD 111

Track list:

01 – The Golden Carol
02 – Blake’s Cradle Song
03 – The Blessed Son of God
04 – Snow in the Street
05 – Wither’s Rocking Hymn
06 – Drinking Song (Back and side go Bare)
07 – Whither must I Wander
08 – The Willow Whistle
09 – Linden Lea
10 – The Divine Image
11 – The Woodcutter’s Song
12 – Come Down O Love Divine
13 – Fierce Raged the Tempest
14 – At the Name of Jesus
15 – Into the Woods My Master Went
16 – The Night is Come Like to the Day
17 – God be With You Till We Meet Again


Maddy Prior – vocals
Steve Banks – Percussion, Violin, Vocals
Jub Davis – Double Bass, Vocals
Giles Lewin – Recorder, Viola, Violin, Vocals
Steno Vitale – Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Mandolin
Andy Watts – Bassoon, Clarinet, Recorder, Shawm, Vocals

Recorded at Blue Moon Studios, Oxfordshire
Additional vocal recording: The Steppings Cumbria
Engineered by Mark Lee and Tony Poole
Mixed and mastered by Tony Poole
Sleeve design by Gwen Morgan
Album co-ordination by John Dagnell

Maddy Prior and The Carnival Band’s association with the composer Vaughan Williams goes right back to their very first album together, 1986’s Tapestry Of Carols, and their version of ‘The Sussex Carol’.

In many ways it was a natural fit – Williams the great collector and composer of English music meets one of its most important singers and dedicated band of musicians.

Their paths have crossed on countless occasions since but with Vaughan Williams Carols, Songs & Hymns the partnership has fully blossomed.

Comprising all original Williams’ compositions, the album demonstrates the full range of his art and his unique ability to write music for the common man, for the spiritual and for the religious.

In the safe and inspired hands of Maddy and the Carnival Band, this historical music is given a new lease of life – performed with the same freshness and vitality as when it was originally unveiled by one of the masters of English music.