The Record Collection

Neil Young: Neil Young (1968)

Reprise RS 6317

Track list:

01 – Emperor Of Wyoming
02 – Loner
03 – If I Could Have Her Tonight
04 – I’ve Been Waiting For You
05 – Old Laughing Lady
06 – String Quartet From Whiskey Boot Hill
07 – Here We Are In The Years
08 – What Did You Do To My Life
09 – I’ve Loved Her So Long
10 – Last Trip To Tulsa


Neil Young – Guitars, piano, pipe organ, harpsichord, vocal
Jim Messina – Bass (except #05,09)
George Grantham – Drums (except #05,09)
Earl Palmer – Drums (#05,09)
Ry Cooder – Guitar (#05,09)
Jack Nitzsche – Electric piano (#05,09)
Merry Clayton, Brenda Holloway, Patrice Holloway, Gloria Jones, Sherlie Matthews, Gracia Nitzche – Vocals

Recorded at Wally Heider Recording, Sunset Sound, Sunwest Recording and TTG Recording, Hollywood, Aug.-Oct., 1968
Produced by David Briggs & Neil Young, except #05,06,09 Produced by Jack Nitzsche, Ryland Cooder & Neil Young
Engineers: Dale Batchelor, Donn Landee, Mark Richardson,Henry Saskowski, Rik Pekkonen

cover painting: Roland Deihl

Originally released on Nov. 12, 1968

Partially remixed and fully remastered second version with title printed on cover released in Jan. 1969

Note: “The Loner” b/w “Sugar Mountain”, a non-LP B-side recorded live at Canterbury House, Ann Arbor MI, was released as a 45 RPM 7″ single in Dec., 1968 (Reprise 0785).
Many subsequent singles featured “Sugar Mountain” as their B-side; the track was first released on LP on Decade, 1977.