The Record Collection

Chet Baker: Let’s Get Lost (Best of) (2008)

Milan Records

Track list:

01 – Let’s Get Lost
02 – You Don’t Know What Love Is
03 – But Not For Me
04 – Time After Time
05 – There Will Never Be Another You
06 – Look For The Silver Lining
07 – My Funny Valentine
08 – I Fall In Love Too Easily
09 – That Old Feeling
10 – Sad Walk
11 – Summertime
12 – Lover Man
13 – These Foolish Things
14 – I’ll Remember April
15 – Maid In Mexico
16 – Easy To Love
17 – Band Aid
18 – Happy Little Sunbeam
19 – Line For Lyons
20 – Freeway
21 – Cherry
22 – Festive Minor


Chet Baker – Trumpet, Vocals
Gerry Mulligan – Baritone Sax
Russ Freeman – Piano
Gérard Gustin – Piano
Carson Smith – Bass
Bobby Whitlock – Bass
Jimmy Bond – Bass
Larry Bunker – Drums
Bert Dahlander – Drums
Chico Hamilton – Drums
Peter Littman – Drums
Bob Neel – Drums

This Milan compilation contains the same title as photographer and filmmaker’s Bruce Weber’s biopic of Chet Baker, but this is not soundtrack to the film — despite the fact that Milan is an RCA/BMG subsidiary.

The music found on this collection dates back to the 1950s, when Baker was first beginning his career as both a member of Gerry Mulligan’s quartet and as a solo artist.

Some of the tunes here come from his Pacific Jazz period, but were recorded overseas for other labels like RCA Victor and Barclay.

There are three different sets of recordings here: the later ’50s period when Baker was a solo singing star as well as a trumpeter fronting his own band, some later reunion dates with Mulligan in a pianoless sextet, and some outtakes from his Paris period — most of the better material has been released on Barclay already.

That said, this is, despite its rather careless packaging, a perfectly enjoyable, if non-definitive presentation at Baker during an early peak period in his career.
— (Thom Jurek)