The Record Collection

Penguin Cafe Orchestra: Broadcasting From Home (1982-84)

Editions EG EEGCD 38

Track list:

01 – Music for a found harmonium
02 – Prelude and yodel
03 – More milk
04 – Sheep dip
05 – White mischief
06 – In the back of a taxi
07 – Music by numbers
08 – Another one from the colonies
09 – Air
10 – Heartwind
11 – Isle of view (music for helicopter pilots)
12 – Now nothing


Simon Jeffes – Acoustic Guitar, Guitar, Cuatro, Dulcitone, Soloban, Milk bottles, Bass, Omnichord, Piano (#5,10,12), Harmonium, Drums, Triangle, Linn Drum Computer, Spinet, Violin (#4), Ukulele (#8,10), Tin Whistle (#11)
Geoffrey Richardson – Viola, Shaker (#3), (#10 – Bass, Guitar, Tin Whistle)
Steve Nye – Piano (#6,7,11)
Helen Liebmann – Cello
Gavyn Wright – Violin
Neil Rennie – Ukulele (#6), Cuatro (#8)
Kuma Harada – Bass (#1,11)
Marcus Beale – electric Violin (#9)
Trevor Morais – Hihat, Wood Block, Cowbell
Fami – Drums (#6)
Mike Giles – Drums (#11)
David Defries – Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Ann Whitehead – Trombone

Recorded at Penguin Cafe between 1982-1984
Mixed at: Rooster Studios, Boathouse Studios, Hippodrome Place

Producer: Simon Jeffes
Engineer: Ian Morais

Cover Painting: Emily Young

This record continues the custom established by Simon on ‘Penguin Café Orchestra’ of using the original ensemble from the first record with the addition of new members.

Recorded on 8 track at Hippodrome place between 1982 and 1984 with overdubbing and mixing at various 24 track studios, it is, once again, a slow, but sure accumulation of compositional and instrumental ideas.

For the first time the PCO features brass instruments, the Omnichord and the harmonium, an instrument which was to become central to future PCO music. This period of research gave birth to the classic ‘Music for a Found Harmonium’ which Simon composed in Japan on a harmonium that he found abandoned in a Tokyo street. This piece has become a classic, covered by many ensembles including Sharon Shannon, Patrick Street and The Orb.

This record is the PCO ‘coming of age’ but still retaining its youthful nonconformity.

(Re-mastered 2008)
— (Aug 2012)