The Record Collection

Various Artists: The Funky 16 Corners (1968-74)

Stones Throw Records STH2038

Track list:

01 – Intro -Ebony Rhythm Band
02 – Dap Walk -Ernie & The Top Notes
03 – Let’s Go (It’s Summertime) -James Reese & The Progressions
04 – Trespasser -Bad Medicine
05 – The Funky 16 Corners -The Highlighters Band
06 – The Kick -The Rhythm Machine
07 – What About You (In The World Today) -Co Real Artists
08 – Interlude -Ebony Rhythm Band
09 – The Dump -Soul Vibrations
10 – Jody’s Freeze -James Reese & The Progressions
11 – Kashmere -Kashmere Stage Band
12 – Fish Head -Slim & The Soulful Saints
13 – Tighten Up Tighter -Billy Ball & The Upsetters (ft. Roosevelt Matthews)
14 – Southside Funk -The Soul Seven
15 – Can We Rap -Carleen & The Groovers
16 – Beautiful Day -Spider Harrison
17 – Go To Work [Alt version] -Revolution Compared To What
18 – The Phantom -Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen Plus One
19 – In The Rain -The Wooden Glass featuring Billy Wooten
20 – Outro -Ebony Rhythm Band
+bonus tracks
21 – Bunky’s Pick -Cut Chemist
22 – The Funky Buzzard -James Bell & The Turner Brothers

Stones Throw Records presents a glimpse into the lives and music of 16 unsung heroes of the late 60s and early 70s’ funk revolution from each corner of the United States. These are musicians that strove to achieve the success of The Meters and James Brown, musicians that played their instruments with a gut-wrenching power unheard in modern music, musicians that testified on wax and have resurfaced some thirty years after disappearing from the music scene. The intensity of their recordings has not lost one ounce of soul with the time passed. Now, finally, the meticulously researched The Funky 16 Corners stands as an historical document to this era in American music.