The Record Collection

Various Artists: Funk Spectrum (vol 3) (2001)

Barely Breaking Even BBECD 038

Compiled by Pete Rock & Keb Darge

Track list:

Pete Rock:
01 – Chain And Things -BB King
02 – Let Me Down Easy -Betty Lavette
03 – Trespasser (Part 1) -Bad Medicine
04 – Nothings The Same -Grand Funk Railroad
05 – Hey Joyce -Lou Courtney
06 – Dead -Cresa Watson
07 – Soul L-O-V-E-R -Mutt And Jeffo
08 – Break It Loose (Part 2) -Onyx
09 – You’re Welcome, Stop On By -Vickie Anderson (Momie-O)
10 – Big Bad John -Big John Hamilton
11 – Prelude To Say Brother -The Stark Reality
12 – A Lover Was Born -Lee Dorsey

Keb Darge:
13 – Twine Time -Seeburg Spotlite Band
14 – Ca’-Ba-Dab -Soulswingers
15 – Don`t Give A Damn -King Chain And Silvertone Band
16 – Deal With It -Jimmy Lane And The Incredibles
17 – Jones’n -Soulsistics
18 – Nothin`But A Party (Part 2) -The Blenders
19 – What They Doing (Funkie Junkie) -Charles Pryor And Power Of Love
20 – The Duck Walk -Ramon & Company
21 – We Are The Chosen Few -The Chosen Few
22 – To Be Free -Luther Davis Group

After the riotous scenes outside last years Funk Spectrum II launch party, Keb has teamed up with the legendary hip hop producer Pete Rock, to present us with another instalment in his now much copied funk series.

Remember Keb was there first, working harder than any other DJ on the planet to find his records, and once again displays great generosity in sharing with us these rare unearthed jewels from planet funk.

He should need little introduction, he wears the crown of grand daddy of the funk scene and his compilation partnership with Pete gives us a formidable selection for Funk Spectrum III.

Pete Rock is also a legend in his own right, having first exploded onto the music scene in the late eighties as a DJ on New York radio station WBLS In Control with Marly Marl, which aired every Friday and Saturday night.

By the early 90s Pete was producing with CL Smooth bringing us the EP All Souled Out in 1991 and two full length albums Mecca & The Soul Brother in 1992 and Main Ingredient in 1994, Pete Rock & CL Smooth became a major force in the rap community.

Working alone Pete Rock has gained production notoriety re-mixing tracks of several world famous Hip Hop and Rap groups including Public Enemy, Common, Run DMC, Naughty By Nature, EPMD/LL Cool J, as well as soundtrack credits for Menace To and Poetic Justice.

Pete was the second man to create an album for BBEs Beat Generation series – PeteStrumentals came out in April 2001.

This album consolidates Kebs position as the head of the worldwide funk movement & was a perfect introduction for Pete to the BBE family.