The Record Collection

Art Tatum – Ben Webster: The Album (1956)

Verve MGV 8220

Track list:

01 – All the Things You Are
02 – Gone with the Wind
03 – Have You Met Miss Jones?
04 – Night and Day
05 – Where or When
06 – My Ideal
07 – My One and Only Love
+bonus tracks (not on original LP)
08 – All The Things You Are (solo tk)
09 – Gone With The Wind (solo tk)
10 – Have You Met Miss Jones? (solo tk)
11 – Night and Day (solo tk)
12 – Where or When (solo tk)


Art Tatum – piano
Ben Webster – tenor sax
Red Callender – bass
Bill Douglass – drums

Recorded in Los Angeles; September 11, 1956

Producer: Norman Grantz
Recording Engineer: Val Valentin

Recording also issued on Pablo 2310-737 entitled: “Art Tatum-Ben Webster”.
Pablo PACD 2405-431-2 entitled: “Art Tatum – The Tatum Group Masterpieces, Vol. 8”.

CD 2006 re-issue [Essential Jazz Classics EJC 55403] adds bonus solo piano tracks.

Considered a true landmark in recorded jazz history, this CD presents the original Art Tatum – Ben Webster Quartet album in its entirety.

It was to be Tatum’s last studio session ever, for he died soon after the recording.