The Record Collection

Archie Shepp: Four for Trane (1964)

Impulse A-71

Track list:

01 – Syeeda’s Song Flute
02 – Mr. Syms
03 – Cousin Mary
04 – Naima
05 – Rufus (Swung His Face at Last to the Wind, Then His Neck Snapped)


Alan Shorter – trumpet, flugelhorn
Archie Shepp – tenor sax
John Tchicai – alto Sax
Roswell Rudd – trombone
Reggie Workman – bass
Charles Moffett – drums

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on August 10, 1964.

Producer: Bob Thiele
Recording Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Photography: Chuck Stewart
Artwork: Hollis King