The Record Collection

Bill Evans: Live at Art D’Lugoff’s Top of the Gate (1968/ 2012)

Resonance Records HCD 2012

Track list:

Disc 1:
01 – Emily
02 – Witchcraft
03 – Yesterdays
04 – ‘Round Midnight
05 – My Funny Valentine
06 – California Here I Come
07 – Gone With the Wind
08 – Alfie
09 – Turn Out the Stars

Disc 2:
10 – Yesterdays
11 – Emily (Alt Version)
12 – In a Sentimental Mood
13 – ‘Round Midnight (Alt Version)
14 – Autumn Leaves
15 – Someday My Prince Will Come
16 – Mother of Earl
17 – Here’s That Rainy Day


Bill Evans – piano
Eddie Gomez – bass
Marty Morell – drums

Recorded on October 23, 1968, Grennwich Village, NYC

Recording engineer: George Klabin

Producer: Zev Feldman
Executive Producer: George Klabin

Mixing and sound restoration: George Klabin & Fran Gala

Cover photography: Tom Copi
Album design: Burtoon Yount

Liner notes: Nat Hentoff, Gary Burton, Eddie Gomez, Marty Morell, George Klabin, and Zev Feldman

Allegedly a newly unearthed recording of two previously-unreleased sets, and the only Evans recording ever released from The Village Gate.

Vinyl pressing comes in a deluxe hand-numbered lift off box by Ross-Ellis. Limited Edition 1st Pressing of 3000.
According the a recent Wall Street Journal article on this release, the background on Klabin’s recording is as follows:

“Eight days after jazz pianist Bill Evans opened at New York’s Top of the Gate in October 1968, his manager let a determined college student tape the trio.

The student arrived early on Oct. 23—lugging a 50-pound, two-track Crown recorder and four pricey mikes—and he left with 90 minutes of near-flawless music.

The tape was heard only once on the radio—and then forgotten.”
— (2012)