The Record Collection

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis: The Proposition- OST (2005)

Mute Records STUMM 255

Track list:

01 – Happy Land
02 – The Proposition #1
03 – Road To Banyon
04 – Down To The Valley
05 – Moan Thing
06 – The Rider #1
07 – Martha’s Dream
08 – Gun Thing
09 – Queenie’s Suite
10 – The Rider #2
11 – The Proposition #2
12 – Sad Violin Thing
13 – The Rider #3
14 – The Proposition #3
15 – The Rider Song
16 – Clean Hands, Dirty Hands


Nick Cave – piano, vocals
Warren Ellis: violin, trussart (violin), tape-loops
Martyn P. Casey: bass
Jim White: brums
George Vjestica – guitar (The Rider Song)
Doug Leitch – guitar (Happy Land)

Music Supervisor: Gerard McCann

Recorded at Air Edel Studios, London.
Mastered at The Exchange

Producer: Nick Cave, Warren Ellis
Recorded by: Jake Jackson
Assistant Engineer: Nick Taylor
Mixed by: Jake Jackson, Nick Cave, Warren Ellis

Photography: Polly Borland
Artwork by: Tom Hingston Studio

PLOT: Rural Australia in the late nineteenth century: Capt. Stanley and his men capture two of the four Burns brothers, Charlie and Mike.

Their gang is held responsible for attacking the Hopkins farm, raping pregnant Mrs. Hopkins and murdering the whole family.

Arthur Burns, the eldest brother and the gang’s mastermind, remains at large has and has retreated to a mountain hideout.

Capt. Stanley’s proposition to Charlie is to gain pardon and – more importantly – save his beloved younger brother Mike from the gallows by finding and killing Arthur within nine days.