The Record Collection

Jim Croce: Photographs & Memories: His Greatest Hits (1974)

ABC Records ABCD-835

Photographs & Memories

Track list:

01 – Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
02 – Operator (That’s Not The Way It Feels)
03 – Photographs And Memories
04 – Rapid Roy (The Stock Car Boy)
05 – Time In A Bottle
06 – New York’s Not My Home
07 – Working At The Car Wash Blues
08 – I Got A Name
09 – I’ll Have To Say I Love You In A Song
10 – You Don’t Mess Around With Jim
11 – Lover’s Cross
12 – One Less Set Of Footsteps
13 – These Dreams
14 – Roller Derby Queen


Jim Croce – guitar, vocals
Maury Muehleisen – lead guitar

Strings arranged by: Pete Dino (#3,5,13), Terence P. Minogue (#7,8,9)

Recorded at The Hit Factory N.Y.C.

Producer: Terry Cashman, Tommy West
Engineer: Bruce Tergesen

Photography: Benno Friedman
Album design: Robert L. Heimall

Liner Notes: Josh Mills
Facets (1966):
Original release
Steel Rail Blues/Coal Tattoo/Texas Rodeo/Charley Green, Play That Slide Trombone/The Ballad of Gunga Din/Hard Hearted Hannah (The Vamp of Savannah)/Sun Come Up/The Blizzard/Running Maggie/Until It’s Time for Me to Go/Big Fat Woman
2004 reissue +
Child of Midnight/It’s All Over, Mary Ann/Railroads and Riverboats/Hard Times Be Over/Railroad Song/Maybe Tomorrow/Pa (Song For A Grandfather)

Jim Croce – guitar, vocals
Richard Croce – percussion
Mike DiBenedetto – keyboards
Karl Fehrenbach – guitar, banjo
Ken Cavender – bass

Producer: Joe Salviuolo
Arrangements: Jim Croce, Eric Von Schmidt

Jim & Ingrid Croce (1969):
Age/Spin, Spin, Spin/I Am Who I Am/What Do People Do/Another Day, Another Town/Vespers/Big Wheel/Just Another Day/The Next Man That I Marry/What the Hell/The Man That is Me

The album was re-released on Capitol records as Jim & Ingrid Croce Another Day Another Town, with 2 songs omitted and the tracks rearranged in the following order:

Another Day, Another Town/Vespers/Big Wheel/Age/What Do People Do/Just Another Day/What the Hell/The Man That is Me/Spin, Spin, Spin

Jim Croce – guitar, keyboards, vocals, 12 string guitar
Ingrid Croce – vocals
Gary Chester – drums
Harry Katzman – violin
Ann Minogue – triangle
Gene Pistilli – guitar, keyboards
John Stockfish – bass
Eric Weissberg – mandolin
Dick Weissman – banjo
Tommy West – guitar, keyboards, background vocals

Producers: Terry Cashman, Gene Pistilli, Tommy West

You Don’t Mess Around with Jim (1972):
You Don’t Mess Around with Jim/Tomorrow’s Gonna Be a Brighter Day/New York’s Not My Home/Hard Time Losin’ Man/Photographs and Memories/Walkin’ Back to Georgia/Operator (That’s Not the Way It Feels)/Time in a Bottle/Rapid Roy (The Stock Car Boy)/Box #10/A Long Time Ago/Hey Tomorrow

Jim Croce – guitar, rhythm guitar, vocals, background vocals
Maury Muehleisen – guitar, vocals
The Briggs – background vocals
Terry Cashman – vocals, background vocals
Tommy West – bass, percussion, piano, rhythm guitar, keyboards, electric piano, vocals, background vocals

Producers: Terry Cashman, Tommy West
Photography: Paul Wilson

Life and Times (1973):
One Less Set of Footsteps/Roller Derby Queen/Dreamin’ Again/Careful Man/Alabama Rain/Good Time Man Like Me Ain’t Got No Business (Singin’ the Blues)/Next Time, This Time/Bad, Bad Leroy Brown/These Dreams/Speedball Tucker/It Doesn’t Have to Be That Way

Jim Croce – guitar, vocals
Kenny Ascher – organ
Terry Cashman – vocals
Gary Chester – drums
Ellie Greenwich – vocals
Michael Kamen – synthesizer
Joe Macho – bass
Maury Muehleisen – guitar, vocals
Alan Rolnick – guitar, vocals
Tasha Thomas – vocals
Eric Weissberg – violin
Tommy West – bass, keyboards, vocals

I Got a Name (1973)
I Got a Name/Lover’s Cross/Five Short Minutes/Age/Workin’ at the Car Wash Blues/I’ll Have to Say I Love You in a Song/Salon and Saloon/Thursday/Top Hat Bar and Grille/Recently/The Hard Way Every Time

Jim Croce – guitar, vocals
Leroy Brown – vocals
George Devens – percussion
Steve Gadd – drums
Ellie Greenwich – vocals
Michael Kamen – synthesizer
Joe Macho – bass
Rick Marotta – drums
Bobby Matos – percussion
Terence P. Minogue – strings, vocals
Maury Muehleisen – guitar, vocals
Marty Nelson – vocals
Alan Rolnick – guitar, vocals
Tasha Thomas – vocals
Tommy West – bass, keyboards, vocals
Stu Woods – bass