The Record Collection

Reuben Wilson: Blue Mode (1969)

Blue Note BST 84343
Blue Note 29906 (1997)

Blue Mode

Track list:

01 – Bambu
02 – Knock On Wood
03 – Bus Ride
04 – Orange Peel
05 – Twenty-Five Miles
06 – Blue Mode


John Manning – tenor sax;
Melvin Sparks – guitar;
Reuben Wilson – organ;
Tommy Derrick – drums.

Recorded: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey; December 12, 1969.

Producer: Francis Wolff
Recording Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Artwork: Mati Klarwein
Art direction: Frank Gauna
Cover design: Bob Venosa

Liner notes: Stanley Dance

Re-issue (1997) Producer: Michael Cuscuna, Tom Evered
Cover Re-design: Patrick Roques

Blue Note reissues with labels containing “304 Park Ave.” are “budget” ($9.99-11.99)
Blue Note LPs that are officially licensed product (circa 2000s).
They are licensed by Scorpio and pressed at Rainbo in LA.
Every single one of these is cut using a digital master.