The Record Collection

Stanley Turrentine: The Spoiler (1966)

Blue Note BLP 4256/84256

The Spoiler

Track list:

01 – The Magilla
02 – When The Sun Comes Out
03 – La Fiesta
04 – Sunny
05 – Theme From “The Oscar” (Maybe September)
06 – You’re Gonna Hear From Me


Blue Mitchell – trumpet;
Julian Priester – trombone;
James Spaulding – alto sax, flute;
Stanley Turrentine – tenor sax;
Pepper Adams – baritone sax;
McCoy Tyner – piano;
Bob Cranshaw – bass, fender bass;
Mickey Roker – drums;
Joseph Rivera – shaker, tambourine.

Arranged by: Duke Pearson

Recorded at: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey; September 22, 1966.

Producer: Alfred Lion
Recording Engineer: Rudy Van Gelder

Liner notes: Leonard Feather

Cover photography: Francis Wolff
Cover design: Reid Miles