The Record Collection

Horace Tapscott Quintet: The Giant is Awakened (1969)

Flying Dutchman
FDS 107

The Giant is Awakened

Track list:

01. The Giant is Awakened
02. For Fats
03. The Dark Tree
04. Niger’s Theme


Arthur Blythe: alto sax;
Horace Tapscott: piano;
David Bryant: bass;
Walter Savage Jr: bass;
Everett Brown Jr: drums.

Recorded 1 April 1969.

Producer: Bob Thiele
Engineer: Eddie Brackett

Liner notes: Stanley Crouch

Photography: Irv Glaser
Design: Robert Flynn