The Record Collection

Johnny Griffin Quartet: Way Out (1958)

Way Out

Track List:

01. Where’s Your Overcoat, Boy?
02. Hot Sausage
03. Sunny Monday
04. Cherokee
05. Teri’s Tune
06. Little John


Johnny Griffin – tenor sax;
Kenny Drew – piano;
Wilbur Ware – bass;
‘Philly’ Joe Jones – drums.

Recorded: Reeeves Sound Studio, New York City; February, 1958
Released: 1958
Label: Riverside
RLP 12-274 [1958]
OJCCD 1855 [1994]

Producer: Orrin Keepnews
Recording Engineer: Jack Higgins

Photography courtesy of Peter Adelberg (European Art Color Slide Co., New York)
Cover design: Paul Bacon
Cover Photo: “The Tulip” (sculpture by Naum Gabo)

Liner notes: Orrin Keepnews

Re-mastered (1994) by: Phil de Lancie