The Record Collection

The Three Sounds: Introducing The Three Sounds (1958) 1987

Introducing The  Three Sounds

Track list:

01. Tenderly
02. Willow Weep For Me
03. Both Sides
04. Blue Bells
05. It’s Nice
06. Goin’ Home
07. Would’n You
08. O Sole Mio
+bonus tracks (*not on original LP)
09. Bobby [*]
10. Mo-Ge [*]
11. It Might As Well Be Spring [*]
12. Soft Touch [*]
13. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore [*]
14. Goin’ Home (alt tk) [*]


Gene Harris – piano, celeste;
Andrew Simpkins – bass;
Bill Dowdy – drums.

#1-3,5,9,10,12: recorded at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey; September 16, 1958
#4,6-8,11,13,14: recorded at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey; September 18, 1958

Released: 1958
Label: Blue Note

CDP 7 46531 [1987]

#9-14 released in Japan in 1983 as Blue Note BNJ 61019 “Introducing The Three Sounds”, Volume 2

Producer: Alfred Lion
Recording Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Line notes: Leonard Feather

Cover photography: Francis Wolff
Cover design: Reid Miles

Produced for Release (1987) by: Michael Cuscuna
Digital transfer by: Ron McMaster

Michael Cuscuna writes:

The album that introduced the Three Sounds featuring Gene Harris was recorded in two sessions on September 16 and 18, 1958. Six selections from those sessions, never before on LP, were issued in Japan in 1983 as “Introducing The Three Sounds” Volume Two. These performances included an alternate take of “Goin’ Home”, the Harris original “Mo-Ge” first issued only on 45 and four new titles. In the CD format, all of these recently discovered selections have been added to the original album for completeness.