Various Artists: Anthology of American Folk Music (1952) 1997


Track list:

Vol 1-1 Ballads:
01. Henry Lee — Dick Justice
02. Fatal Flower Garden — Nelstone’s Hawaiians
03. The House Carpenter — Clarence Ashley
04. Drunkard’s Special — Coley Jones
05. Old Lady and the Devil — Bill & Belle Reed
06. The Butcher’s Boy — Buell Kazee
07. The Waggoner’s Lad — Buell Kazee
08. King Kong Kitchie Kitchie Ki-Me-O — “Chubby” Parker
09. Old Shoes And Leggins — Uncle Eck Dunford
10. Willie Moore — Burnett and Rutherford
11. A Lazy Farmer Boy — Buster Carter and Preston Young
12. Peg and Awl — The Carolina Tar Heels
13. Ommie Wise — G. B. Grayson
14. My Name Is John Johanna — Kelly Harrell

vol 1-2 Ballads:
01. Bandit Cole Younger – Edward.L Crain.
02. Charles Giteau – Kelly Harrell
03. John Hardy Was A Desperate Little Man – The Carter Family
04. Gonna Die With My Hammer In My Hand – Williamson Brothers
05. Stackalee – Frank Hutchison
06. White House Blues – Charlie Poole; North Carolina Ramblers
07. Frankie – ‘Mississippi’ John Hurt
08. When That Great Ship Went Down – William & Versey Smith
09. Engine 143 – The Carter Family
10. Kassie Jones – Lewis, Walter ‘Furry’ Lewis
11. Down On Penny’s Farm – The Bentley Boys
12. Mississippi Boweavil Blues – The Masked Marvels
13. Got The Farm Land Blues – Carolina Tar Heels

AoAFM vol 1

Vol 2-1 Social Music:
01. Sail Away Lady -Uncle Bunt Stevens
02. Wild Wagoner – Jilson Setters
03. Wake Up Jacob – Hunt, Prince Albert Texas Ramblers
04. La Danseuse – Blind Uncle Gaspard
05. Georgia Stomp – Andrew Baxter
06. Brilliancy Medley – Eric & Family Robertson
07. Indian War Whoop -Floyd Ming & His Pep-Steppers
08. Old Country Stomp – Henry Thomas
09. Old Dog Blue – Jim Jackson
10. Saut Crapaud – Columbus Fruge
11. Acadian One-Step – Joseph Falcon
12. Home Sweet Home – The Breaux Freres
13. Newport Blues – Cincinnati Jug Band
14. Moonshiner’s Dance Part One – Frank Cloutier and the Victoria Cafe Orchestra

Vol 2-2 Social Music:
01. You Must Be Born Again – Rev. J.M. Gates
02. Oh Death Where Is Thy Sting – Rev J.M. Gates
03. Rocky Road – Alabama Sacred Harp Singers
04. Present Joys – Alabama Sacred Harp Singers
05. This Song Of Love – Middle Georgia Singing Convention
06. Judgement – Sister Mary Wilson
07. He Got Better Things For You – Memphis Sancified Singers
08. Since I Laid My Burden Down – Edwards’ Sanctified Singers; Elder McIntosh
09. John The Baptist – Rev. Moses Mason
10. Dry Bones – Bascom Lamar Lunsford
11. John The Revelator – ‘Blind’ Willie Johnson
12. Little Moses – The Carter Family
13. Shine On Me – Ernest Philips & His Holiness Singers
14. Fifty Miles Of Elbow Room – Rev. F.W. McGee
15. In The Battlefield For My Lord – Rev. D.C. Rice & His Sanctified Congregation

AoAFM vol 2

Vol 3-1 Songs:
01. Coo Coo Bird – Clarence Ashley
02. East Virginia – Buell Kazee
03. Minglewood Blues – Cannon’s Jug Stompers
04. I Woke Up One Morning In May – Hebert, Didier
05. James Alley Blues – Richard ‘Rabbit’ Brown
06. Sugar Baby – Dock Boggs
07. I Wish I Was A Mole In The Ground – Lunsford, Bascom Lamar
08. Mountaineer’s Courtship – Ernest V. Stoneman; Hattie Stoneman
09. Spanish Merchant’s Daughter – The Stoneman Family
10. Bob Lee Junior Blues – Memphis Jug Band
11. Single Girl Married Girl – The Carter Family
12. Le Vieux Soulard Et Sa Femme – ClemoBreaux
13. Rabbit Foot Blues – Blind Lemon Jefferson
14. Expressman Blues – ‘Sleepy’ John Estes

Vol 3-2 Songs:
01. Poor Boy Blues – Ramblin’ Thomas
02. Feather Bed – Cannon’s Jug Stompers
03. Country Blues – Dock Boggs
04. 99 Year Blues – Julius Daniels
05. Prison Cell Blues – Jefferson, Blind Lemon Jefferson
06. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean – Blind Lemon Jefferson
07. C’Est Si Triste Sans Lui – Clemo Breaux
08. Way Down The Old Plank Road – ‘Uncle’ Dave Macon
09. Buddy Won’t You Roll Down The Line – ‘Uncle’ Dave Macon
10. Spike Driver Blues – ‘Mississippi’ John Hurt
11. K.C. Moan – Memphis Jug Band
12. Train On The Island – J.P. Nestor
13. Lone Star Trail – Ken Maynard
14. Fishing Blues – Henry Thomas

AoAFM vol 3

Release: 1952 / 1997
Label: Folkways Records
FP 251/252/253

Smithsonian Folkways
SFW40090 [1997]
Originally produced by Harry Everett Smith
Re-issue Produced by the Staff of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Original transfers: Harry Smith, Moses Asch, Peter Bartok

Original package design: Harry Smith
Re-issue design by Scott Stowell

Mastered by David Glasser, Pete Reiniger, Charlie Pilzer

Liner Notes by Greil Marcus, Jeff Place, Neil Rosenberg, Luis Kemnitzer, Jon Pankake, Peter Stampfel, Luc Sante, Kip Lornell, Eric Von Schmidt, John Fahey

The 100-page booklet (pdf 20.6MB) is on-line at the Smithonian Folkways website (20.6MB)



The Anthology of American Folk Music (SFW 40090), Edited by Harry Smith, is one of the most influential releases in the history of recorded sound.

Originally issued by Folkways in 1952 as three volumes of 2 LPs each, (a total of 84 tracks), it had been commercially unavailable for many years before this 1997 reissue.
The Smithsonian Folkways reissue comes in a 12″ by 12″ box containing 84 tracks on 6 CDs.

Meticulous digital remastering of the selections ensures the best possible sound quality.

Also included in the boxed is an award-winning 100-page “Booklet of Essays, Appreciations, and Annotations Pertaining to the Anthology of American Folk Music.”

The booklet follows Harry Smith’s original vision and features his “scientific/aesthetic handbook” of songs, an essay by noted critic and author Greil Marcus, additional essays, song notes, photos, graphics, a reproduction of the originally liner notes, and recollections by well known artists about the impact of this anthology on their own lives.

Compiled and edited by Smithsonian Archivist Jeff Place, the booklet received the 1997 Grammy Award for “Best Album Notes.”