Laura Marling: Alas I Cannot Swim (2008)

Alas I Cannot Swim

Track list:

01. Ghosts
02. Old Stone
03. Tap at My Window
04. Failure
05. You’re No God
06. Cross Your Fingers
07. (Interlude) Crawled Out of the Sea
08. My Manic and I
09. Night Terror
10. The Captain and the Hourglass
11. Shine
12. Your Only Doll (Dora)
12a. Your Only Doll (Dora)
12b. birdsong
12c. untitled hidden track (aka Alas I Cannot Swim)


Performed by:
Charlie Fink, Laura Marling, Marcus Mumford, Tom Hobden

Also Featuring:
Emily Dreyfus, Emily Thomas, Guy Kustav, Jesse Quin, Johnny Coates, Laura Dickson, Lotte Johnson, Nick Murray, Rob Greenwood, Winston Marshall

Recorded: Eastcote Studios, Eden Studios, Kore Studios
Label: Virgin

Producer: Charlie Fink
Recording Engineer: Guy Katsav (assistant: Anna Tjan)

Mixed at Soho Recording Studios
Mixed by: Guy Katsav (assistant: Anna Tjan)

Mastered at The Exchange, London
Mastered by: Guy Davie

Woodcuts by:

Creative Direction: Joy Elton
Design: Alex Cowper

Thank you Ferdy, Lucy at ITB, Joy, Andrew, Alex, Harry and the rest of the team. Adam and Helen for keeping it simple. Anna and Eastcote Studios for a home from home. Tom Fiddle, Marcus, Winston, Jesse, KC, and everyone who contributed to the record. Also, Noah And The Whale, 4 of the most perfectly kind people I have ever had the good fortune of meeting. Aimy and Gee, whom I love very much. Charlie and Judi without whom, for sure, none of this would have been possible. Phoebe, a beautiful constant in ever changing surroundings. And Charlie, who’s mind and talent ring out through this album, bringing all my greatest hopes to fruition and letting nothing go unquestioned; it is to him I owe my biggest thank you. Max, David, Rosemary, Lewis, Will, Charles, Hannah, Diane, Emma and Eddie who have all played a large part in this in ways they might never know.
Here’s to fearless enjoyment….