The East River String Band: Sweet East River (2006)

Sweet East River

Track list:

01. Me And My Chauffeur Blues
02. Skoodle Um Skoo
03. Don’t Speak To Me
04. Pony Blues
05. Cocaine
06. Old Jim Canan’s
07. Sweet East River
08. Skinny Leg Blues
09. I Got The Whiskey
10. Devil Got My Woman
11. Fox Trot Medley
12. Black Hole Blues
13. Tonight You Belong To Me
14. Tell It To Me
15. Humming Blues
16. Going To Germany


Eden Brower – vocals, guitar, kazoo, National resonator ukelele
John Heneghan – vocals, guitar, mandolin;
Sophie Crumb; Alec Morton; Jim Stout; Sam Hopkins.

Released 2006
Label: Redeye

Cover By Sophie Crumb


Eden and John’s East River String Band have been playing, releasing CD’s and LP’s and touring America and Europe since around 2006.

The brain child of John Heneghan, Eden Brower was soon lured into the duo with promises of chocolate, a National Resonator Uke and her name being before John’s in their lengthy moniker.

They play a vast spectrum of traditional American Blues, Country and Pop music ranging from the late 19th to the early 20th Century.

With John on vocals, guitar and mandolin and Eden on vocals, guitar, kazoo and the aforementioned resonator Uke, their love and reverence of old music shines through in every song.

They have released four albums and often have special guests sitting in with them for their recordings and live performances, including Robert Crumb, the famed underground cartoonist who also does all the artwork for the band causing Eden to exclaim, ‘My legs are not THAT big!” to anyone who will listen.