Kirsty MacColl: A New England (2013)

subtitled: The Very Best of Kirsty MacColl

A New England

Track list:

01. In These Shoes?
02. Walking Down Madison (Edit)
03. A New England
04. My Affair
05. Days
06. They Don’t Know
07. Don’t Come the Cowboy with Me, Sonny Jim!
08. England 2 Colombia 0
09. Terry
10. He’s on the Beach
11. Miss Otis Regrets (with The Pogues)
12. Caroline
13. You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby
14. Celestine
15. Soho Square
16. Free World
17. Bad
18. vInnocence
19. Angel (Floating Round This House)
20. There’s a Guy Works Down the Chip Shop Swears He’s Elvis
21. Fairytale of New York (with The Pogues)


#01,08,14: from Tropical Brainstorm (V2, 2000)
#02,04: from Electric Landlady (Virgin, 1991)
#03: from non-LP single (Stiff, 1984)
#05,07,16,18: from Kite (Virgin, 1989)
#06: from non-LP single (Stiff, 1979)
#09: from non-LP single (Stiff, 1983)
#10: from non-LP single (Stiff, 1985)
#11: from Red Hot + Blue (Chrysalis, 1990)
#12: from non-LP single (Virgin, 1995)
#13: from “Free World” 12? single (Virgin, 1989)
#15,17,19: from Titanic Days (ZTT, 1993)
#20: from Desperate Character (Polydor, 1981)
#21: from If I Should Fall from Grace with God (Island, 1987)


This compilation:
Released: 2013
Label: Union Square


Having greatly expanded her solo catalogue last year, Union Square Music is releasing a new compilation devoted to the late Kirsty MacColl.

Last year, USM released her debut full-length Desperate Character (1981) on CD for the first time, as well as new double-disc expansions of Kite (1989), Electric Landlady (1991) and Titanic Days (1993).

In spite of the eight-year gap between her first two solo LPs, MacColl was a busy singer both before and after, from her 1979 debut single “They Don’t Know” (later a hit on both sides of the Atlantic for Tracey Ullman) and various other A-sides released by Stiff Records, before their sudden bankruptcy left her stuck in a lot of legal entanglements.

A New England: The Very Best of Kirsty MacColl gives equal measure to these cuts, like “Terry,” “He’s on the Beach” and the Billy Bragg-penned title track.

It also features her two famous collaborations with Irish rockers The Pogues, “Fairytale of New York” and “Miss Otis Regrets,” as well as three tracks from her final album, Tropical Brainstorm (2000), which was not expanded by USM.