Various Artists: A Concert for Kirsty MacColl (2010) 2013

A Concert for Kirsty MacColl

Track list:

01. Soho Square -Ellie Goulding
02. Walking Down Madison -Alison Moyet
03. Tread Lightly -Amy MacDonald
04. They Don’t Know -Andrea Corr
05. In These Shoes -Catherine Tate
06. A New England -Billy Bragg
07. Dear John -Eddi Reader with Boo Hewerdine
08. Head -Alison Moyet
09. Angel (Floating Around My House) -Brian Kennedy
10. Days -Brooke Supple
11. Fairytale of New York -Dave Duffy & Amy MacDonald
12. There’s A Guy Works Down The Chip Shop Swears He’s Elvis -Phill Jupitus, Boz Boorer,Phil Rambow

Label: Salvo

Following on from their excellent studio album reissue campaign in October 2012, Salvo Music released A Concert for Kirsty MacColl on 18 February 2013.

This CD release captures a concert performance from October 12th 2010, when fans and friends packed London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire to hear Kirsty’s fellow artists celebrate 12 of her greatest songs.

Performers such as Ellie Goulding, Amy MacDonald, Billy Bragg, Andrea Corr and Alison Moyet helped to celebrate the life and music of Kirsty MacColl.
Recorded almost a decade after MacColl’s shocking death, there’s no doubting the sincerity and love of the participants in this celebratory show.

MacColl’s voice was one of the most distinctive and seductive in pop history, to the point where it’s almost uncomfortable to listen to others taking on her fine tunes.

Ellie Goulding’s breathy Soho Square sounds way too flimsy, Amy MacDonald’s strident bark reduces Tread Lightly and (especially) Fairytale Of New York to bad karaoke, while Andrea Corr’s default setting sugariness all but cuts the knackers off They Don’t Know.