Duke Ellington / John Coltrane: Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (1962) 2007

Duke Ellington and John Coltrane

Track list:

01. In a sentimental mood
02. Take the Coltrane
03. Big nick
04. Stevie
05. My little brown book
06. Angelica
07. The feeling of jazz


John Coltrane – tenor sax, soprano sax;
Duke Ellington – piano;
Jimmy Garrison – bass (#2,3,6);
Aaron Bell – bass (#1,4,5,7);
Elvin Jones – drums (#1,2,3,6);
Sam woodyard – drums (#4,5,7)

Recorded: Van Gelder studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey; September 26, 1962
Released: 1962
Label: Impulse!

Producer: Bob Thiele
Recording Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Liner notes: Stanley Dance

Photography: Bob Ghiraldini
cover design: Robert Flynn
Liner design: Joe Lebow


This work led to Ellington one of many collaborations made during the 60’s with other great jazz musicians and to Coltrane was an opportunity to collaborate with one of the great jazz musicians of all time.

Despite the union of these two artists so stylistically different the result continues to be something more than a musical uniqueness, but also an important record of the history of jazz that unifies the best of both musical stylings.

The quartet structure is configured sometimes recording with bass and drummer of Duke or Coltrane.