Hugh Laurie: Let Them Talk (2010)

Let Them Talk

Track list:

01. St. James Infirmary
02. You Don’t Know My Mind
03. Six Cold Feet
04. Buddy Bolden’s Blues
05. Battle of Jericho
06. After You’ve Gone (ft. Dr. John)
07. Swanee River
08. The Whale Has Swallowed Me
09. John Henry (ft. Irma Thomas)
10. Police Dog Blues
11. Tipitina
12. Whinin’ Boy Blues
13. They’re Red Hot
14. Baby, Please Make A Change, (ft. Sir Tom Jones, Irma Thomas)
15. Let Them Talk


Hugh Laurie – vocals, piano, guitar, percussion;
Jay Bellerose – drums, percussion;
Kevin Breit – tenor and six-string guitar, mandolin, mandocello;
Greg Leisz – guitar, lap-steel, Weissenborn, mandola;
David Piltch – upright bass;
Patrick Warren – field organ, autoharp, accordion, additional keyboards;
Craig Eastman – violin, tenor violin;
Levon Henry – tenor sax (#3);
Robby Marshall – clarinet, alto clarinet;
Jean mcClain – backing vocals;
Gennie Jackson – backing vocals;
Jo GReen – handclaps (#3)

#1,4,11: Horns arranged and conducted by Allen Toussaint:
Brian ‘Breeze’ Cayotte -tenor and baritone sax;
Tracy Griffin – trumpet;
Clarence J. Johnson III – alto sax;
‘Big Sam’ Williams – trombone;

Special Guests:
Irma Thomas – vocals (#9), backing vocals (#14)
Dr. John – vocals (#6)
Sir Tom Jones – vocals (#14)

Recorded: Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, CA; July 26 & 27; September 1; October 4,8, & 21, 2010
Additional Recording: Piety Street Recording, New Orleans, LA; October 18, 2010
Released: 2011
Label: Warner Brothers (UK)
Producer: Joe Henry
Recorded by: Ryan Freeland
Recording assistance at Ocean way: Wesley M. Seidman
Recording assistance at PPiety Street: Wesley Fontenot, Paul Marinaro

Mixed by: Ryan Freeland at Stampede Origin, Los Angeles, CA
Executive producer: Conrad Withey

Mastered by: Gavin Lurssen

Notes: Hugh Laurie, Joe Henry

Photography: Michael Wilson
Design: Anabel Sinn