Sonny Rollins Quartet: Tenor Madness (1956)

Tenor Madness [RVG]

Track list:

01. Tenor Madness
02. When Your Lover Has Gone
03. Paul’s Pal
04. My Reverie
05. The Most Beautiful Girl in the World


Sonny Rollins – tenor sax;
Red Garland – piano;
Paul Chambers – bass;
‘Philly’ Joe Jones – drums
John Coltrane – 2nd tenor sax (#1)

Note #1: John Coltrane takes the first solo and also leads off on the chases

Recorded: Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey; May 24, 1956
Released: 1956
Label: Prestige
LP 7047
7657 [1969, Re-issue]
P-7047 / OJC20-124-2 [1987, CD, Re-issue, Re-master]
PRCD 30044 [2006, RVG re-master]

Producer: Rob Weinstock
Recording Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Cover design: Weinstock / Hannan

Liner notes (1956): Ira Gitler
Liner notes (1969): Mark Gardner
Liner notes (2006): Ira Gitler

Digital re-mastering (1987) by Kirk Felton at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA