Hank Jones, Frank Wess: Hank and Frank II (2003) 2009

Hank and Frank II

Track list:

01. Sunday
02. Lord Prepare Me
03. More Than You Know
04. If I Were a Bell
05. I Had the Craziest Dream
06. When Your Lover Has Gone
07. Chasing the Bird
08. Ill Wind
09. Jordu
10. The First Time I Saw Ella
11. Quintessence
12. You Don’t Know What Love Is
13. Stay As Sweet As You Are
14. For All We Know
15. I’ll Be Seeing You


Frank Wess — tenor sax, flute
Hank Jones — piano
Ilya Lushtak — guitar
John Webber — bass
Mickey Roker — drums
Marion Cowings — vocals

Recorded: Nola Recording Studios, New York, NY; November 29, 2003
Released: April 14, 2009
Label: Lineage
LIN 106

Producer: John Webber
Recording Engineer: Jim Czak

Hank Jones and Frank Wess retain the same rhythm section as their 2003 session for Lineage, except vocalist Marion Cowings is added on several tracks.

Jones retains his masterful touch on piano even into his nineties, swinging effortlessly whether playing a breezy setting of “Sunday,” a laid-back gospel-infused “Lord Prepare Me,” or bop favorites like “Chasin’ the Bird” and “Jordu.”

Wess’ richly textured tenor dominates favorite ballads like “‘More Than You Know” and “Ill Wind,” while guitarist Ilya Lushtak, who works regularly with Wess and also took part in the earlier CD Hank and Frank, is generously featured, getting a bluesy edge with his spacious interpretation of “When Your Lover Is Gone.”

Cowings has been on the Manhattan scene for some time and served as vocal coach for Harry Connick, Jr., though he evidently has not been recorded very often.

His easy-going vocal style never oversells the lyrics, though he is at his best in ballads like the old chestnut “Stay as Sweet as You Are.”
~Ken Dryden[]