Gato Barbieri: Caliente! (1976) 1986


Track list:

01. Fireflies
02. Fiesta
03. Europa (Earth’s cry, heaven’s smile)
04. Don’t cry, Rochelle
05. Adiós (part I)
06. I want you
07. Behind the rain
08. Los desperados
09. Adiós (part II)


Gato Barbieri – tenor sax
Lenny White – drums
Gary King – bass
Eric Gale, David Spinozza, Joe Beck – guitar
Eddy Martinez – keyboards
Don Grolnick – keyboards, synthesizer
Ralph MacDonald, Cachete Maldonado, Mtume – percussion
+additonal musicians:
Trumpets: Marvin Stamm, Bennie Glow, Randy Becker, Irvin Markowitz
Trombones: Wayne Andre, David Taylor, Paul Faulise
Strings: Alfred Brown, David Nadien, Charles McCracken, Theodore Israel,
Matthew Raimindi, Harry Cykman, Harry Glickman, Alan Shulman,
Max Ellen, Harold Kohon, Max Pollikoff, Harry Lookofsky, Paul Gershman

Arranged by: Gato Barbieri
Orchestrations arranged & conducted by: Jay Chattway

Recorded: A&R Studios RI, New York
Released: 1976
Label: A&M

CD 3247 [1986, CD]

Producer: Herb Alpert
Associate Producer: Michelle Barbieri

Engineer: Don Hahn
Assistant Engineer: Tom Bush, Dave Smith
Mastering Engineer: Bernie Grundman (A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA)

Photography: Bill King, Raúl Vega (fire eater photo)
Design: Chuck Beeson
Art Direction: Roland Young


The images of dreams and the images of memory have a sound.

With movies, we became aware that images have music.

Something happens with music that is much older and more intimate.

When it really touches you, you can create your own images and dream things you never knew you could dream.

Music is like a forest, it has boundaries, but we do not know them.

Let’s make the magical possible by looking at it with hot (Caliente) eyes.

Thank you Carlos Santana and Marvin Gaye, who, following different paths, arrived to that sea where I feel happy, because music is the memory of dreams.

Thanks to all our friends, the true ones, the forever ones.