Various Artists: The Rough Guide to Celtic Women (2012)

The Rough Guide to Celtic Women

This compilation:
Label: World Music Network
Compiled by: Dan Rosenberg

Track list:

CD 1

01. In Shame Love, In Shame -Pauline Scanlon
02. The Hill Of Thieves -Cara Dillon
03. M’ Fhearann Saidhbhir (My Land Is Rich)/Nellie Garvey’s Favourite/’g Ioman Nan Gamhan ‘s Mi Muladach/Jerry’s Pipe Jig -Julie Fowlis
04. Summer Sands (Feat. Carol Keogh) -Sharon Shannon
05. What Are You Waiting For? -Karine Polwart
06. Foliada De Caión -Susana Seivane
07. Turas An Anraidh (The Stormy Voyage) -Capercaillie
08. Da Bhfaigheann Mo Rogha De Thriur Acu/Dhannsamaid Le Ailean/Cairistion’ Nigh’n Eoghainn -Eamon Doorley, Julie Fowlis, Ross Martin & Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
09. Johnny I Hardly Knew Ye -Karan Casey
10. John Riley -Grada
11. Brian Boru -Cécile Corbel
12. Amhran Pheadair Bhreathnaigh -Altan
13. A’ Mhaighdeann Bharrach (The Barra Maiden) -Maggie MacInnes
14. Cuach Mo Londubh Buí -T With The Maggies
15. O’halloran Road -Teresa Doyle

CD 2 [Bonus CD] Teresa Doyle – Orrachan 


01. Seacht Suáilce Na Maighdine Muire (3:34)
02. Taladh Ar Slanair (3:18)
03. In Ainm An Athar Go mBuaidh (2:45)
04. Caoineadh Mhuire (4:21)
05. Suantraí Na Maighdine (4:57)
06. Deus Meus Adiuva Me (4:09)
07. An tAiséirí (5:20)
08. Rug Muire Mac Do Dhia (3:08)
09. Gabham Molta Bhríde (2:12)
10. Don Oíche Úd I mBeithil (5:16)
11. Seacht nDólás Na Maighdine Muire (7:42)

01. The Seven Rejoices of the Virgin Mary (3:20)
02. Hushing our Saviour (3:15)
03. In the Name of the Father (2:45)
04. Mary’s Lament (4:10)
05. The Virgin Mary’s Lullaby (4:50)
06. My God Help Me (4:05)
07. The Resurrection (5:20)
08. Mary Gave Birth to the Son of God (3:15)
09. Ode to Bridget (2:05)
10. For that Night Yonder in Bethlehem (5:10)
11. Seven Sorrows of the Virgin Mary (7:45)


Teresa Doyle: Vocals
Oliver Schroer: violins, recorder, bells, Tibetan singing bowl & guitar
Bill Brennan: Keyboard, singing bell & water bell
Rebecca Blair: Celtic harp
Corbin Keep: cello
David Woodhead: bass
Irene Schroer: for playing the sea (ummm, C) on Caoineadh Mhuire

Produced, arranged & engineered by Oliver Schroer
Mixed by Oliver Schroer & Andrew St. George
Mastered by Andrew St. George

Label: Bedlam Records


Orrachan – The Divine Feminine in Gaelic Song
Orrachan (Ora khan)
An obscure Gaelic word meaning rhymed prayer, charm or incantation.

The Irish Goddess Brigid, Mary Magdelene and the Virgin Mary have a strong presence in Celtic Spirituality.

Like many ancient cultures, the Celts embrace the feminine in their relationship with the spirit world.

These ancient celtic songs are deeply emotive, evoking the passionate and tragic love of Mary for her child, and at times light hearted recounting the power to turn water into beer.

Teresa re-creates these songs with layered vocals, ethereal lines inspired by Hildegard combined with deeper harmonies that re-inforce our connection to the natural world, the heart of Celtic Spirituality.

Once again Teresa has teamed up with producer, arranger and multi-instrumentalist Oliver Schroer.

Together they have created a deeply restful, mystical and contemplative work.