Duke Ellington, Coleman Hawkins: Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins (1962)

Duke Ellington meets Coleman Hawkins

Track list:

01. Limbo Jazz
02. Mood Indigo
03. Ray Charles’ Place
04. Wanderlust
05. You Dirty Dog
06. Self-Portrait (of the Bean)
07. The Jeep is Jumpin’
08. The Ricitic


Ray Nance – cornet, violin
Lawrence Brown – trombone
Johnny Hodges – alto sax
Coleman Hawkins – tenor sax
Harry Carney – baritone sax, bass clarinet
Duke Ellington – piano
Aaron Bell – bass
Sam Woodyard – drums

Recorded: New York City; August 18, 1962
Released: February, 1963
Label: Impulse!
IMPD 162

Producer: Bob Thiele
Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Liner Notes: Stanley Dance

Cover and Liner Photography: Joe Alper
Cover Design: Flynn / Viceroy
Liner Design: Joe Lebow