Dave Brubeck: Dave Brubeck – Marian McPartland’s Piano Jazz Radio Broadcast 

Dave Brubeck - Marian McPartland's Piano Jazz

Track list:

01. Conversation 3:12
02. St. Louis Blues 7:09
03. Conversation 2:22
04. Thank You 3:16
05. Conversation 2:35
06. The Duke 4:03
07. Conversation 6:57
08. In Your Own Sweet Way 4:59
09. Conversation 5:43
10. One Moment Worth Years 2:37
11. Conversation 1:24
12. Summer Song 4:34
13. Conversation 2:30
14. Free Piece 3:20
15. Conversation 1:32
16. Polytonal Blues 1:04
17. Conversation 2:25
18. Take Five 4:24


Dave Brubeck – piano
Marian McPartland – piano


The date listed for this addition of Marian McPartland’s Piano Jazz show is an estimate since the first few releases put out on the Jazz Alliance series unfortunately left out that detail.

Dave Brubeck and Marian McPartland have known each other since the early ’50s and their mutual respect and love is felt in their conversation and reminiscences.

With the exception of the opening duet on “St. Louis Blues” and the closing “Take Five,” all of the selections performed are Brubeck’s compositions.

He takes “Thank You” and the brief “Polytonal Blues” solo and McPartland explores “Summer Song” but the most intriguing tracks are the duets, particularly “The Duke,” “In Your Own Sweet Way” and the ad-lib “Free Piece.”

This was one of Marian McPartland’s better shows.
~Scott Yanow[]