Al Cohn: The Al Cohn Quintet featuring Bobby Brookmeyer (1956) 2005

Al Cohn Quintet

Track list:

01. The Lady Is a Tramp
02. Good Spirits
03. A Blues Serenade
04. Lazy Man Stomp
05. Ill Wind (You’re Blowin’ Me No Good)
06. Chlo-e (Song of the Swamp)
07. S-H-I-N-E
08. Back to Back
09. So Far So Good
10. Winter
11. I Should Care
12. Bunny Hunch


Al Cohn – tenor sax
Bobby Brookmeyer – valve trombone
Mose Allison – piano
Teddy Kotick – bass
Nick Stabulas – drums

Recorded: New York City; December 3,4 or 5, 1956
Released: 1957
Label: Coral
CRL 57118

Verve Music Group [2005]

Recording Engineer:

Liner Notes: Charles Edward Smith

Photography: Burt Goldblatt

Al Cohn and Bob Brookmeyer appeared on a number of record dates together, each appearing as a sideman with the other, in addition to joint appearances on a number of Manny Albam-led sessions, among others.

But this disc, initially issued by Coral on LP in 1957, was one of the hardest to acquire until its 2005 re-issue as a limited-edition CD.

With the assistance of pianist Mose Allison, bassist Teddy Kotick, and drummer Nick Stabulas in the rhythm section, Cohn and Brookmeyer inspire one another throughout the sessions.

Brookmeyer contributed the upbeat “Good Spirits” and breezy “Lazy Man Stomp.” Cohn’s strong originals include the cool ballad “Winter” and the swinging “Back to Back.”

They also update a number of standards from earlier decades, including Brookmeyer’s exotic setting of “Ill Wind” (a terrific feature for Cohn) and Cohn’s surprisingly up-tempo setting of the usually hackneyed “Chloe.”

Since this CD re-issue will no longer be available after March 2008, cool jazz fans are advised not to miss this edition.