Alboran Trio: Meltemi (2006)


Track list:

01. Nic’s Road
02. Balkan Air
03. Pianissimo
04. Cinque lunghissimi minuti
05. Duende
06. Hoy es mañana?
07. Ho sognato che mi amavi
08. Meltemi
09. Ninna nanna Nic
10. Theme from the movie “Pinocchio”


Paolo Paliaga – piano
Dino Contenti – bass
Gigi Biolcati – drums

Recorded: Artesuono recording studios, Cavalicco (Udine), Italy
Released: June, 2006
Label: ACT 9448-2

Produced by Alboran Trio
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Stefano Amerio at Artesuono

Alboran Trio – Meltemi (pdf -190KB)


When ACT get it right, they really get it right.

With the Alboran Trio’s debut album, Meltemi, the label has struck European piano trio gold again—and with something very different from EST.

Dark Scandinavian nights are out; bright Mediterranean days are in.

The album, which was collectively produced by the trio, is infused throughout with warm sunlight and the smell of orange groves, mint tea and kif.

The Alboran Trio takes its name from the narrow stretch of water which connects Europe and Africa around the Straits of Gibraltar, long a conduit of cultural exchange.

Pianist and composer Paolo Paliaga, who formed the group with fellow Italians Dino Contenti (bass) and Gigi Biolcati (drums) in ’03, consciously set out to draw on musical traditions from all around the Mediterranean.
~Chris May