The Dirty Dozen Brass Band: Voodoo (1987)


Track list:

A1 01. It’s All Over Now (ft. Dr. John [vcl,p])
A2 02. Voodoo
A3 03. Ooh-Pop-A-Dah (ft. Dizzy Gillespie [tp, vcl])
A4 04. Gemini Rising

B1 05. Moose the Mooche (ft. Branford Marsalis [ts])
B2 06. Don’t Drive Drunk
B3 07. Black Drawers / Blue Piccolo
B4 08. Santa Cruz


Trumpet – Efrem Towns, Gregory Davis
Trombone – Charles Joseph
Sousaphone – Kirk Joseph
Soprano Saxophone – Roger Lewis
Tenor Saxophone – Kevin Harris
Baritone Saxophone – Roger Lewis
Snare – Lionel Batiste (1), Jenell Marshall
Bass Drum – Jenell Marshall (1), Lionel Batiste
Percussion – Jenell Marshall, Kevin Harris
Percussion, Cuica – Roger Lewis
Vocals – Jenell Marshall (1), Gregory Davis (7)
Dr. John – vocal and piano (1)
Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet and vocal (3)
Branford Marsalis – tenor Sax (5)

Recorded at Southlake Recording Studio, Metarie, Louisiana, August 1987.
#3,5: recorded at The Hit Factory, New York, September 1987.
Additional recording at Sorcerer Sound, New York.
Released: 1989
Label: Columbia – FC 45042 [LP]
CK 45042 [CD]

Mixed at Blue Jay Recording Studio, Carlisle, Massachusetts.
Mixed by Rob Jaczco (assisted by Mark Wessel)

Producer: Scott Billington
Recorded by: David Farrell, Rob Feaster (3,5)

Mastered at Frankford/Wayne, New York
Mastered by Tom Coyne

Art Direction: Christopher Austopchuk
Photography: David Katzenstein