Warumpi Band: Big Name, No Blankets (1985)

Big Name, No Blankets

Track list:

A1 01. Waru
A2 02. Blackfella/Whitefella
A3 03. Breadline
A4 04. Nyuntu Nyaaltjirriku
A5 05. Animal song

B1 06. Warumpinya
B2 07. Wiima Tjuta
B3 08. Fitzroy Crossing
B4 09. Mulga & Spinifex Plains
B5 10. Gotta Be Strong


George Rurrambu – vocals, didgeridoo, boomerangs
Neil Murray – vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, bass
Sammy Butcher – guitar, bass
Gordon Butcher – drums
with help from:
Di Spence – sax (A3);
Ernesta Mazzoni – back-up vocals (A3,B3);
Fran and Norma – back-up vocals (A3);
Syd – supporting hums (A5); and
whoever left the Vox in the studio

Big Name, No Blankets (3 insert A)

Recorded at: Trafalgar Studios, except:
A3 (recorded at Koalaroo Studios and Trafalgar Studios); and
B3 (recorded at Centre Trax, Alice Springs and Koalaroo Studios, Sydney; 1984)
Released: 1985
Label: Powderworks – POW 6098

Producer: The Warumpi Band
Engineer: Alan Thorne

Mixed at Trafalgar Studios, Sydney, Australia; January, 1985

Cover photo by Neil Murray (on road north of Balgo, W.A.)
Band photos by Frank Lidner

Big Name, No Blankets (3 insert B)

”   With support from Aboriginal Arts Agency, the Central Australian Aboriginal Media Association, Kookie, Martin, Hilary, Syd and heaps of others between Broome and Melbourne.
– Drums supplied by Billy Hyde
– Accommodation by Deb and Toni
– Translation on”Waru” assisted by Banduk Marika
– Cover photo by Neil Murray (on road north of Balgo, W.A.)
– Band photos by Frank Lidner
– Gordon Butcher’s sticks by stockman Sticks
– Boots by Stockman’s boots
– Singlets by Jack Howe
– Food while in studio – Burgers with the lot
– Hair — by Unkempt
– Blankets — Anyone’s.   “