Hampton Hawes, Paul Chambers: The East/West Controversy (1951/57) 1975

Series: Xanadu Gold Series

The East-West Controversy

Track list:

Hampton Hawes:
A1 01. Buzzy
A2 02. What Is This Thing Called Love ? (These Foolish Things)
A3 03. Bud’s Blues (Hamp’s Claws)
A4 04. Another Hair Do
A5 05. All The Things You Are
A6 06. Blue Bird (Hamp’s Paws)

Paul Chambers:
B1 07. Montrose
B2 08. The Mouse Hop
B3 09. Jazz City
B4 10. Sweet Saxophones
B5 11. Early Morning Smog
B6 12. Two Visitors
B7 13. Cute


Hampton Hawes – piano
Harper Cosby – bass
Lawrence Marable – drums

Bill Perkins – tenor sax
Jack Montrose – tenor sax
Paul Moer – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Mel Lewis – drums

Bill Perkins – tenor sax, baritone sax
Jack Montrose – tenor sax
Paul Moer – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Philly Joe Jones – drums

A1-A6: “The Haig”, Hollywood, CA, September 22, 1951
B1,B2: Recorded January 22, 1957
B3-B7: Recorded January 23, 1957

This compilation:
Released: 1975
Label: Xanadu Records, Xanadu 104
re-issue produced by: Don Schlitten


There is nothing too controversial about the pair of sets that comprise this Xanadu LP, which finds musicians identified with East Coast and West Coast styles playing with each other.

Pianist Hampton Hawes (making his recording debut as a leader) performs six blues and bop standards in 1951 and is in already fairly mature form.

The second half of the album (released for the first time on this 1975 LP) has bassist Paul Chambers directing a quintet arranged by John Graas and featuring the tenors of Bill Perkins and Jack Montrose, pianist Paul Moer and either Mel Lewis or Philly Joe Jones on drums.

The cool-toned bop music is quite enjoyable and it seems odd that it took 18 years for it to be released.
~Scott Yanow[]