Dizzy Gillespie: Dizzy Gillespie at Newport (1957) 1992

Dizzy Gillespie at Newport

Track list:

A1 01. Dizzy’s Blues
A2 02. School Days
A3 03. Doodlin’

B1 04. Manteca Theme
B2 05. I Remember Clifford
B3 06. Cool Breeze

bonus tracks (*not on original LP)
07. (selections from) Zodiac Suite: *
07a). Virgo
07b). Libra
07c). Aries
08. Carioca *
09. A Night in Tunisia *


Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet, vocal (2)
Trumpet: Lee Morgan, Ermit Perry, Carl Warwick, Talib Daawud
Trombone: Melba Liston, Al Grey, Chuck Connors
Alto-sax: Ernie Henry, Jimmy Powell
Tenor-sax: Billy Mitchell, Benny Golson
Baritone-sax: Pee Wee Moore
Piano: Wynton Kelly (1-6,9), Mary Lou Williams (7,8)
Bass: Paul West
Drums: Charlie Persip

Released: 1957
Label: Verve MG V-8242 [LP]
Verve 3754 [1992, CD, re-issue]

Recorded in concert at the Newport Jazz Festival, Rhode Island; July 6, 1957

Originally Produced by Norman Granz

Original LP liner notes: Bill Simon

Cover Photography: Burt Goldblatt

CD Re-issue (1992):
Supervised by Michael Lang
Research and Restoration by Phil Schaap
Re-mastered for CD by Gary Mayo
additional production assistance by Cliff Preiss and Peter Pullman
Liner notes (1992): Benjamin Franklin V
booklet photography: Bettman Archives (p5,6), Institute of Jazz (p10)
Graphic Design: Sachico Asano