Gil Evans: New Bottle Old Wine (1958)

New Bottle, Old Wine

Track list:

A1 01. St. Louis Blues
A2 02. King Porter Stomp
A3 03. Willow Tree
A4 04. Struttin’ With Some Barbeque

B1 05. Lester Leaps In
B2 06. ‘Round Midnight
B3 07. Manteca!
B4 08. Bird Feathers


Trumpet: Johnny Coles, Louis Mucci, Ernie Royal (1-3,5,6), Clyde Reasinger (4,7,8)
Trombone: Joe Bennet, Frank Rehak
Bass trombone: Tom Mitchell
French horn: Julius Watkins
Tuba: Harvey Philips (1,2,5,6), Bill Barber (3,4,7,8)
Alto sax (soloist): Cannonball Adderley
Reeds: Jerry Sanfino (1,2,5,6), Phil Bodner (3,4,7,8)
Gil Evans – piano, arranger, conductor
Guitar: Chuck Wayne
Bass: Paul Chambers
Drums: Art Blakey (1,2,4-8), ‘Philly’ Joe Jones (3)

Released: 1958
Label: World Pacific WP-1246, ST-1011

Recorded Manhattan Towers, New York City;
#01,02,05,06: April 9, 1958
#03: May 2, 1958
#04: May 21, 1958
#07,08: May 26, 1958

Mastering: Richard Bock, Woody Woodward

Producer: George Avakian

Liner Notes: Woody Woodward, Ed Michel

Cover and additional photos: Al Avakian