Thelonious Monk: Monk’s Music (1957) 2004

Monk's Music

Track list:

A1 01. Abide with Me
A2 02. Well, You Needn’t
A3 03. Ruby, My Dear

B1 04. Off Minor (tk 5)
B2 05. Epistrophy
B3 06. Crepiscule with Nellie (tk 6)

bonus tracks (*not on original LP)
— 07. Off Minor (tk 4)*
— 08. Crepiscule with Nellie (tk 4+5)*


Ray Copeland – trumpet
Gigi Gryce – alto sax
Coleman Hawkins, John Coltrane – tenor saxes
Thelonious Monk – piano
Wilbure Ware – bass
Art Blakey – drums

(A1 is played by trumpet and saxes only; A3 by Hawkins and rhythm section only)

Released: 1957
Label: Riverside – RLP 12-242
Riverside RISA-1102-6 [2004, Super Audio CD, re-mastered]

Recorded: Reeves Sound Studio, New York; June 26, 1957
Engineer: Jack Higgins (Reeves Sound Studio)

Producer: Orrin Keepnews

Liner Notes: Orrin Keepnews

Cover Photography: Paul Weller
Cover Design: Paul Bacon

Re-mastered 2004 by Joe Tarantino (Fantasy Studios, Berkeley)
Riverside RISA-1102-6