Pierre Moerlen’s Gong: Gazeuse! (1976)

aka: Expresso [US]


Track list:

A1 01. Expresso
A2 02. Night Illusion
A3a 03. Percolations Part One
A3b 04. Percolations Part Two

B1 05. Shadows of
B2 06. Esnuria
B3 07. Mireille


Mireille Bauer – vibes (1,2,5), Marimba (1,3,6), Glock (6), Toms (4)
Mino Cinelou – Congas (1,5,6), African bell-gong (2,5), cuica, triangle, maracas (3), talking drums, temple blocks (5)
Allan Holdsworth – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, violin, pedal steel guitar (3)
Didier Malherbe – tenor sax, flute (6)
Benoit Moerlen – vibes (1-6)
Pierre Moerlen – drums, vibra (3), marimba (4), timpani (4), glock (3)
Francis Moze – fretless bass, gong (3), acoustic and electric piano (7)

Released: 1976
Label: Virgin Records

Producer: Dennis Mackay

Recorded at The Manor Studios
Recording Engineer: Dennis Mackay

Mixed at Trident Studios
Engineer: Stephen W. Taylor

Sleeve Artist: Jacques Moitoret

”   Thanks to Cedric Beatty, Michael Glossop, Barbara Jefferies and everyone at The Manor   ”


“Shadows of” is a re-working of Allan Holdsworth’s “Velvet Darkness” from his 1976 album of the same name.


The album is jazz fusion and has little to do with the psychedelic space rock of Daevid Allen’s Gong, even though the bands share a common history.

Although the album was issued under the name of Gong (due to contract obligations with Virgin Records), and the name “Pierre Moerlen’s Gong” would not be adopted for a couple of years, the lineup involved and the nature of the music are that of the Moerlen-led band.