Horace Silver Quintet: The Tokyo Blues (1962)

The Tokyo Blues

Track list:

A1 01. Too Much Sake
A2 02. Sayonara Blues

B1 03. The Tokyo Blues
B2 04. Cherry Blossom
B3 05. Ah! So


Blue Mitchell: trumpet
Junior Cook: tenor sax
Horace Silver: piano
Gene Taylor: bass
John Harris Jr.: drums

Originally released: 1962
Label: Blue Note BLP 4110 / BST 84110

Producer: Alfred Lion

Recorded: at the Van Gelder Studios (Englewood Cliffs, NJ); July 13 (#A2,B1) and July 14 (#A1,B2,B3) 1962
Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Liner Notes: Atsuhiko Kawabata, Horace Silver

Photography: Francis Wolff
Design: Reid Miles

Re-issue Producer: Michael Cuscuna

From the back cover:

This album is dedicated to all of our many fans in Japan and to all of the Japanese people who were so very kind to us while we were making our concert tour there.

It is our wish to return again some day soon.

While in Japan, I noticed that the Japanese people were very fond of Latin music, which I also am very fond of.

In writing some of these compositions I have attempted to combine Japanese feeling in the melodies with Latin feeling in the rhythms.

I hope you enjoy them. [Signed] Horace Silver.