Mose Allison: Back Country Suite (for Piano Bass and Drums) (1957)

Back Country Suite 1

Track list:

Back Country Suite for Piano, Bass and Drums:
A01 01. New Ground
A02 02. Train
A03 03. Warm Night
A04 04. Blues
A05 05. Saturday
A06 06. Scamper
A07 07. January
A08 08. Promised Land
A09 09. Spring Song
A10 10. Highway 49

B01 11. Blueberry Hill
B02 12. You Won’t Let Me Go
B03 13. I Thought About You
B04 14. One Room Country Shack
B05 15. In Salah


Mose Allison: piano, vocals (04,14)
Taylor La Fargue: bass
Frank Isola: drums

Originally Released: 1957
Label: Prestige PRLP 7091 [US] / Esquire 32-051 [UK]
Original Jazz Classics – OJC-075 [1983,LP,US]
Original Jazz Classics – OJCCD-075-2 [1991,CD,US]

Producer/Supervision: Bob Weinstock

Recorded: Van Gelder Studio (Hackensack, NJ); 7 March, 1957
Engineer: Rudy van Gelder

Liner Notes: Ira Gitler


Back Country Suite 2

UK cover by cartoonist/illustrator Ralph Steadman