Carl Perkins: Memorial (1956-57) 1990


Track list:

01 Too Close For Comfort (Bock, Holofcener, Weiss) 3:12
02 What’s New (Haggart, Burke) 4:07
03 Just Friends (Klenner, Lewis) 3:33
04 Adam’s Theme (Mann) 1:55
05 Our Love Is Here To Stay (Gershwin, Gershwin) 3:03
06 Song For Ruth (Mann) 3:18
07 Love Walked In (Gershwin, Gershwin) 2:54
08 Sophisticated Lady (Ellington, Mills, Parish) 4:110
09 A Fifth For Frank (Wiggins, Tjader) 1:54


[#01-03] Leroy Vinnegar Quartet [Recorded in Los Angeles ; 21 October, 1957]
Richie Kamuca (ts) ; Carl Perkins (p) ; Leroy Vinnegar (b) ; Tony Bazley (d)

[#04-06] Herbie Mann Quartet [Recorded in Los Angeles ; 08 July, 1957]
Herbie Mann (fl) ; Carl Perkins (p) ; Leroy Vinnegar (b) ; Bill Douglass (d)

[#07-09] Curtis Counce Quintet [Recorded in Los Angeles ; 12 November, 1956]
Jack Sheldon (tp) ; Harold Land (ts) ; Carl Perkins (p) ; Curtis Counce (b) ; Frank Butler (d)
this compilation Released: 1990 | Label: Fresh Sound Records FSR-CD 99

Liner Notes: J.P.

Prepared for release by: Jordi Pujol

Art Direction:

from liner notes:

Carl Perkins was born on the 16th of August 1928 in the city of Indianapolis, and died in Los Angeles on the 17th of March 1958.

He started on piano at the age of 9, was entirely self-taught, never having studied.
As a child he suffered from poliomyelitis, and as a consequence his technique at the piano was somewhat unusual.
He played with his left hand held sideways, his forearm parallel to the keyboard.
He explained it this way: “when I was little my left hand was too small to make the bass chords, so I turned my hand around and used my elbow to make them.”